Archive for August 16th, 2008

Bitch!Please!

August 16, 2008

The newest dance party in Perth is Bitch!Please!- all the best music played on the last saturday of every month! Music list includes:
Boyz Noise
A-trak
1928
Billion Dollar DJs
Computer Club
Danger
Cut Copy
Dizzee Rascal
Does it offend you yeah?
Justice
Late of the Pier
Miami Horror
M.I.A
MSTRKRFT
Oh Snap!
Surkin
South Rakkas Crew
Snob Scrilla
Uffie
And so so so so SO much more (check out myspace link!!)

The dude who started all of this is going to be one popular guy! Check out his interview for an insight into his kooky personality.

How did you come up with the name?
I guess i just thought it was funny! It was sorta inspired by all those amazing parties in NY and LA right now, alot of them have snaps like FUCKKK YEAHHH, and OH SNAPPP!, and CHECK YO! and all that kinda thing , so yeah BITCH!PLEASE! was definatly inspired by those kinda current parties 🙂

Tell me a little about yourself?
My names Hickey/Daniel/Casper whatever you want to call me 🙂 lol. But my family calls me Daniel. I grew up in the North of England and now live in Perth Australia 🙂 I live in the ghetto known as Rockingham. I sorta don’t fit in there however. But love it and defend my town with vicious verbal daggers. lol.

What exactly is it that you do?
I have a real job of course. but in the context your asking me, i throw parties ! They are called BITCH!PLEASE! and we turn a little bar called BAR138 into a nightclub lookin thinggg the last saturday of every month and just have a great great time 🙂

What did you do before the starting?
I djed alot around the city. I got a residency @ SHAPE and played there lots and lots of times. Its really great there, but i just got the itch to start throwing my own nights.

How did you start out/ was it hard?
Hmmm, it wasn’t ‘hard’ per-say, it was hard work setting it all up but I basically just asked the owner of the bar if i could throw a saturday night party and he was cool enough to trust me, all the way, and let me do it 🙂 I djed bar 138s friday night INNERCITYBEATZ a couple of times and thats how i sort of got involved with the bar, and the owner.

–Random questions–
What one materialistic thing can you not live without?
Hmmm, aww man i dont know, boring answer as it is probably my diary. I think i probably need a diary more than anybody else ive ever met. I forget EVERYTHING, if i think of something i need to or something i need to write down i drop everything and run to my diary (even if im at work) at write it down because ill forget it. So yeah, my diary, other than that, my toy collection 🙂 Id be pretty gutted if that got…burned down..or something.

What have you learnt from doing what you do?
Thats its totally definatly what i want to do with my life ? lol..Ive been at uni and done 4 semesters of 5 different courses, thats more than a change a semester, so therefore, gathered that it wasnt for me, throwing these parties feels right, i just want it to grow bigger and bigger untill we have every like minded cat in the city tangled in our web !

Do you have a secret name for your favourite inanimate object?
Yes ! aha Bluey ! Its an oragami crab that sits on the front of my friends dash board. Im very attatched to him..

Has this helped in picking up girls/boys?
Ya know what, its SUPPOSSED to , and id say it does with everybody else ! But i have this wierd paradox where im far too shy or far too forward, aha, i dont really have an inbetween, it doesnt help me out !

Did anything crazy or embarrassing happened to you during the opening night?
Thunderclaps got embarassed when they pulled the power chord out ! ahaha. I love those guys though, they can’t do anything wrong in my book. Crazy, um there was a guy dancing around with one of the bubble machines i bought strapped to his head ? and everybody was making piles of car tires id painted fluro colours to sit on. It was all rather surreal 🙂

Links:
Bitch!Please! MySpace

Better see heaps of people on the next Bitch!Please! party!!!