Snob Scrilla

l_46e27b9eb03a14201935f7ff0ff699981.jpg
ss2.gif

Snob Scrilla is a really cool guy that plays hip hop/electro music with a mix of indie rock- turns out to be a great combo. After listening to a few of his songs, I felt like seeing him live would be something awesome! Not only does he get the musical combinations right, his singing/rapping and lyrics are funny and interesting, you might catch yourself singing along after a while.
His interview shows his personality off more- you’ll find he’s as fun and lively as his music is.

How did you come up with the name?
Snob Scrilla actually came about when I was conceptualizing the project. See in the Bay Area in Northern Cali the term scrilla means cash. And with this project I wanted to complete throw out what would be the “viable market” product and just do what ever the hell I felt like doing in the lab. Hence I was gonna snob the cash and stick to my creative vision. Snob Scrilla…

Tell me a little about yourself?
My names Sean, I’m 24, raised in Cali and now residing in Sydney. I enjoy watching the sunset and long walks on the beach collecting shells.

What did you do before the music making started?
I’ve actually been making music my whole life, literally since I was in 4th or 5th grade. But I was also studying in Newcastle, which is why I initially came down here.

How did you start out/ was it hard?
Starting out was a serious grind actually. Initially just to get my name out i was working as an MC in clubs. i was broke as hell because at the time under my visa I couldn’t work and I was doing gigs for free just to get as many as possible. My girlfriend would drive me from newcastle all over the place to do these hole in wall nights where I wasn’t even getting paid, she was seriously the only way that I survived. Slowly my name and profile as an MC started to build and I got to the point where I was meeting the people I wanted to meet and performing in the places where I wanted to perform. that lasted for about three and a half years just making the contacts, networking, and tallying up favors with the right people. Then I connected with Audius and we locked ourselves in the lab for another 7 months crafting this project. Once that was done it was time to call on all those connects and favors to get it out there and heard and so far it seems like the long grind is paying off.

Any big plans for the near future?
The main focus at the moment is the live show. We are putting something really crazy together that I think is gonna blow people away. To me that’s the most exciting part of the process, the live show. I can’t wait to show you guys when we come out your way…

Random questions:
What song have you been listening to most in the past few weeks?
Man that’s a tough one because I’m listening to so much but I’ll give you three. I have been knocking Miami Horror’s remix of Faker’s “Heartattack”. Actually I have been knocking all of Miami’s stuff, he’s seriously the shit. I have been listening to “We Are Rockstars” by Does It Offend You Yeah. And I have been listening to Rock Steady in The Night by Digikid84…check these kids out they are on some throwback electro meets boogaloo steez and i love it…

What one materialistic thing can you not live without?
Wow how boring am I…my ipod…

Do you have a secret name for your favourite inanimate object?
No, but now I want to…thanks for that. Oh but I always wanted to get a dog so I could name it monkey cause i thought that would be kinda funny. Cause you would be all like “Monkey!!!” and this little dog would come running and how funny would that be? No? whatever…

Does being in the music making business help in picking up girls?
Yeah chicks dig it…but the music gives completely the wrong image. Girls think I’m all cool and stuff, then they hang with me and I’m like “let’s go bowling” or “let’s play guitar hero!!!”. I can only imagine the disappointment they must feel!!! hahaha… I need someone who understands my geekiness lol…

What’s the most embarassing thing that’s happened during a live gig?
Well this gig at Ruby Rabbit that was basically not a gig for me to be doing the first place. it was arts exhibition night called fashique…I was running hella late cause I was in a session with Jake from Something With Numbers who was vocaling this track on my album.Anyway we finally show up after the promoter has been calling my phone about 10 times, she’s pissed off cause we didn’t get to do soundcheck and we are screwing up the schedule of the night. Then when we hit the stage the music levels are all over the place and halfway through the first song the mic just decides to switch itself off. Then people start walking out and they all turn their backs on me cause i’m up there the music sound like crap and I’m basically screaming over the top to be heard cause the mic’s no working anymore. So I just went even harder nearly fell off the stage and broke my neck and basically amused myself acting like a madman. I think I still earned a couple fans that night though. Whatever…me and Jake had fun ha…

Has any crazy fans done anything weird?
There was one guy who asked me if I would appreciate him getting “snob scrilla” tattooed down the length of his arm. What do you say to that? Well I’m a jerk…so I say hell yes!!!!…we’ll see if he’s got new ink next time I see him lol!!!

Now for all you Sydney people out there- you’re lucky enough to have the chance to see Snob Scrilla live in two weeks (check out his myspace link for more details!). Plus a single will be out on iTunes at the end of April so keep an eye out for that!

Links:
Snob Scrilla Msypace

ss.jpg

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Snob Scrilla”

  1. April Says:

    what are the lyrics to …. (the song with no title)
    i cant find them anywhere and that song is amazing.

Leave a Reply

