Oh Snap!!

This guy may look average, but his personality and music is far from it. Oh Snap!! is a mixture of genres, blurring the lines between entertaining happy rap, electro and DJ sets.

“If there was only one word to describe OH SNAP!!, excluding all words SNAP!! can’t spell or understand, the word would he HAPPY. OH SNAP!!’s mission in life is to make people happy while partying their collective bootays off. OH SNAP!!’s hobbies include: being fresh, keeping it real, poppin’ AND lockin’, hustlin’, and writing haikus.” (From his myspace)

His answers to the interview is another funn and entertaining one!

How did you come up with the name?
I was trying to censor myself from saying Oh Shit! when something was good or crazy, like oh shit! that’s a lot of money! No seriously though, I used to say Oh Snap a lot when I was younger and I thought it was appropriate because I’m bringing back some old school type raps over new dance music…

Tell me a little about yourself?
My name is OH SNAP!! and I’m 31 years old… I’m from a small country town in Maryland near Baltimore, though I grew up closer to Washington DC…

What did you do before you started?
I think I’ve always been OH SNAP!!, I just finally took the name… I’ve always rapped since I was 14, but I used to be more of a gangster rapper, but it never really fit who I was… I like to make people laugh and have a good time and it’s hard to work that in to raps about guns and selling crack…

How did you start out/ was it hard?
Music is a grind so it’s always hard, but it’s a passion so I stick it out like everyone else. I Started the OH SNAP!! project last December by making some beats then going and recording a few songs. Since then it’s just grown…

Any big plans for the near future?
I have an EP coming out on Sweat It Out! On July 12 called Mad Wow Disease. It’s going to feature a ton of dope remixes, etc… I am supposed to come to Australia for tour later this year and I will be guest performing with my homie, DJ Bald Eagle at a festival in the US called Lollapalooza on August 2…

–Random questions–
What song have you been listening to most in the past few weeks?
Rosanna by Toto

What one materialistic thing can you not live without?
Wow… well, being a Buddhist, I’m supposed to function without material objects, but if I had to choose one, it would be my MacBook… I use it for everything…

Do you have a secret name for your favourite inanimate object?
MacDaddy

Does being in a band help in picking up girls/boys?
Been married for 5 years so probably not as much as say a single artist… I manage a singer/songwriter named John Neilson and it definitely works for him…

Has anything crazy or embarrassing ever happened during a live gig?
I got heckled once in Chicago. This dude that was all messed up on several things just walked up to me and started talking to me in the middle of a song… It was really odd, but of course, I then dedicated that song to him.

On his myspace page you can have a listen to all his songs, and there are also links that leads you to more of his mixes that you can listen to online. Alternatively – as he said he is featured in a new CD “Sweat It Out” compilation album volume 1 mixed by Ajax and Miami Horror, available CHEAP at JB hifi (where else!). So whatchu waitin’ for…?!

Links:
Oh Snap!! Myspace

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

