Death Metal Disco Scene

13

Death Metal Disco Scene (DMDS) is basically this awesome English dude who does awesome heavy remixes. He pretty much takes Pop songs and punkify the hell out of it and add extra synths and electro beats so it’s even better to crazy dance to- YAY!

Check out the entertaining interview:

How did you come up with the name?
The name. It’s a joke really. It’s sort of a anti-genre thing. You know how people go: ‘right, I’m into Science Metal, my band’s gonna be called Third Degree Bunsen Burns’ or something. Well, this is doing exactly the opposite. It doesn’t describe what I do at all and it is quite funny. What could be worse than a death metal disco? Incidentally, I don’t mind either genre. I’m quite open minded. But I do get abuse off death metal fans on Myspace. Though strangely not off 70s disco throwbacks.

Tell me a little about yourself?
You know, I’m still undecided how much I want to be out there and recognisable. I like the idea of being a shadowy figure, remixing in dark rooms. So, my name’s Davvid Davvoid (you might have guessed I wasn’t born that), I’m in my early 30s and I split my time between London and a remote place on the coast where I do my most of my work.

What did you do before the starting?
I’ve done lots of things. I’ve been a not-very-successful songwriter for pop artists (back in the early 2000s), I’ve been in loads of bands, none of them famous, and I’ve worked everywhere from building sites to film companies to support my music habit. These days I do bits of music for TV and film, a bit of writing and DMDS.

How did you start out/ was it hard?
No, it wasn’t hard. This is the least hard thing I’ve done. I just decided that music was too important for me to chase the cash side of it and feel compromised. I had some really mixed experiences in the pop world. So I just decided to make records exactly as I wanted to hear them and make money doing things I didn’t really want to do. That way the music and the money were kept seperate. Fortunately some people at EMI who I knew from a ways back were kind enough to let me have a crack at remixing Kylie’s ‘Wow’ in January 2008. And I haven’t looked back.

Any big plans for the near future?
No, I don’t make plans. John Lennon said that thing about plans and it’s cliched to quote, but it’s true. I never intended to do anything like DMDS, it was almost an afterthought, and it’s turned out to be the most fun thing I’ve ever done.

But I do want to finish this damn EP of mine soon. So that’s a plan and I’ve totally colntradicted myself.

–Random questions–
What song have you been listening to most in the past few weeks?
Apart from my own (‘cos I’m working on them, not because I sit round listening to them for pleasure), I’ve been loving ‘Halfway Home’ by TV On The Radio and learning to play the theme tune from ‘Cheers’ on the piano.

What one materialistic thing can you not live without?
I can’t live without my Macs.

What have you learnt from doing what you do?
I’ve learnt that life turns out very different from how you intend, but to go with it. You have very little control really, it seems.

Do you have a secret name for your favourite inanimate object?
I have a cat, he’s pretty inanimate, and at the moment I call him ‘Chairman Miaow’ or ‘Miu Miu’. I might start calling him Jeffrey Katzenburg.

Has your music helped in picking up girls/boys?
No, music has never helped me pull. I’m quite shy anyway.

Has anything crazy or embarrassing ever happened during a live gig?
DMDS isn’t a live phenomenon (yet), but I did break my leg shortly after exiting the stage for a band I was playing bass for at the Secret Garden Party festival in 2007. That was pretty embarrassing.

And a little special note from DMDS:
Well, anyone wants to sign me for a massive fat album deal, I’m all yours. It’s hard to find time for my own material at the moment and hard to find vocalists who can put up with me and my fairly regimented vision of how things should sound. If anyone out there thinks they can, and channels the spirit of Byrne / Bowie / Almond / Josh Homme then get in touch.

Take a quick minute to just check out the awesome remixes that’s available for your listening pleasure- do it….I say…doooo eeeeeeeet!

Links:
Death Metal Disco MySpace

Tags: , , , , ,

One Response to “Death Metal Disco Scene”

  1. Featured Artist: Death Metal Disco Scene « Belladisco Says:

    […] Further Reference: Facebook. DiscoDust. Twitter. Interview. […]

Leave a Reply

