Suiteside

Suiteside is a little different than the usual people I interview- this time it’s the label and management behind new bands. The people that work behind bands do just as much work as the actual bands themselves! This amazing crazy and fun yet professional woman has worked her way up in the music management industry in order to make a name for herself as well as the artists she represents. With her attitude (which shows through her interview – especially last random question), she makes an often difficult job look easy!

How did you come up with the name?
It’s a kind of joke. When I started the label I used to collaborate with people from the italian electronic label Suite Inc., and we wanted to find a related name. And Suiteside makes you think about luxury hotels but also sounds like the word “suicide”, and sometimes it is a bit, with so much hard work and few money coming in. But we’re romantic beautiful people, aren’t we?

Tell me a little about yourself?
Sometimes I feel as I am the kind of person who’ll never accept to live an adult, ordinary life. I’m into rock-indie music from my teens, and it seems I will never be able to live without being in this crazy business. But I try to work seriously and professionally.

What is the point of your business and what do you do?
My actual goal is to develop the bands I’m working with and for, establishing for them new connections with audiences worldwide. Being a record label doesn’t mean so much in 2008, cds are dead! I’m a booking agent as well, for lots of foreign bands. I set up tours in Italy for Xiu Xiu, Casiotone for the Painfully Alone, Azure Ray, APSE, Ex-Models and many many others.

What did you do before you started all this?
Well, I studied music criticism at the University, then I worked as music journalist for local and regional mags, I’ve been for years Head of Music in the staff of an alternative radio station in Bologna, and I wrote a few books about rock music too.

How did you start out/ was it hard?
Honestly it was less hard when I started, than now! In 2001 there were just a few indie labels and bands around, now everybody can promote himself on the net, and there are lots of new bands struggling for gigs and exposure. Two years ago I had to decide if go on or give up….luckily I found some refreshment in working with younger and more rocking bands.

Any big plans for the near future?
World domination!! ahah, I’m joking….the BIG plan is to work more an more on a global perpective. One positive thing of the internet is that I can contact people like you on the other side of the globe and do a quick interview like this.

–Random questions–
What song have you been listening to most in the past few weeks?
“Violet Hill”, the new Coldplay single. Keeping singing loud “won’t you let me know?” in my office.

What one materialistic thing can you not live without?
Coffee. If I don’t have one in 5 minute after I’m out of bed I’m lost!

Do you have a secret name for your favourite inanimate object?
No. But I have a favourite little inanimate object 🙂

Has anything crazy or embarrassing ever happened to you on the job?
Lots of things! Like being really sick in a toilet at a venue in Lugano (Switzerland) after a gig. Or losing a UK band I hosted in Genova and spending hours with their driver calling the police and the hospitals just to find they slept in a dirty hotel ’cause they were too numb to get back home. Or spending a crazy night in Klagenfurt (Austria) waiting for the train to Italy in a pub with a band made of an italian guy, an english, a spanish and their french roadie. The owner of the place was a really kitsch middle-age blond woman who forced all of us to drink lots of beers and whisky and tequila. And there was also a mad slovenian old guy speaking about his war experiences. I could fill pages with strange stories, but I’m sure the best has yet to come!

If you’re a big music listener keen to find out about new bands before they hit the big time- there are several ways in which you can keep up with this type of news. OR alternatively, if you’re a band or musician who’s in need of help to hit the big time- definitely click on the links and get some information! As you all know, no such thing as too much information!

Links:
Suiteside Official Site
Suiteside Myspace
Last.fm Suiteside
Skype: monica.melissano

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

