Malachi – Alister Yiap


“The Malachi Alister Yiap collection of unisex jewellery is gothic and sexy. Each design is derived from Yiap’s distinctive crow motif, manufactured in solid sterling silver and set with black diamond mimetics.”

Alister Yiap is a talented designer who’s vision has been put on the catwalk on various occasions. His amazing jewellery and catwalk designs are so intricate and delicate it’s impressive. The interview he’s given will give you an idea of his personality though mind you, it does no justice to what he’s like when you meet him in person. Definitely energetic and funny!

How did you come up with the name?
Malachi is the last book of the old testament generally pronounced ‘Mala-Kai’ however I pronounce my label ‘Mala-Chi’ as in ‘Tai-Chi’. Origins come from the Hebrew word Malak which means Messenger and in English is often translated to Angel.

Who’s the brains behind the designs- tell me a little about yourself?
I’m a crazy character who loves to muck around when the time permits and is serious as all seriousness when there’s work to be done! I love hanging out with my friends and having a laugh.

When and how did you start out?
I did Jewellery class in Year 9, and started beading jewellery in year 12, I went on to complete my Bachelor of Art (Jewellery Design) at Curtin University of Technology…. then…. SHA- ZAM! I became a Jewellery designer

Was it hard to actually start producing jewellery?
I think it was more the fine tuning and the little details which seemed to have been the hardest part, finances also played a major role. But the measurements and specifications definately took the longest to finalise.

What’s your inspiration behind the designs?
My colour schemes run through the gray scale~ I’ve not explored much with colour at this stage, kept it very black and white and let the designs speak for themselves. I’m interested in positive and negative spaces.

What did you do before you began designing?
I was just your average student going ‘what am I going to do in life. . . ?’

Any advice for design students who wants to start a line?
Know and understand your industry, no matter what industry – if you don’t then throw yourself in it, so you find out first hand! either that or get a sugar daddy :X

Any big plans in the near future?
I hope so! I’ve not through too far ahead, but I am involved in this years Perth Fashion Festival, but I’d love to be stocked on a national or even international level and maybe branch out into clothing or accessories, handbags and shoes! But lets not get too ahead of ourselves!

–Random questions–
What song have you been listening to most in the past few weeks?
I have 2 actually it toss between the two frequently
Beyonce’ – Listen
Mariah Carey – Bye bye

What one materialistic thing can you not live without?
My Jean Paul Gaultter ‘Le Male’ Tout Beau Lip gloss

Do you have a secret name for your favourite inanimate object?
I don’t have one . . . 😦

PS- I got a pair of his sexy earings for my birthday and it is beautiful!

Links:
Malachi Alister Yiap Official Site




Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

