Bearcage

One thing that caught my attention while looking through Bearcage’s profile was the Mr Brightside Remix, I think I replayed that song a fair bit because he managed to do a great job on it. He’s good at playing around with the synths making combinations that work with each other. Another great remix he just put up is one on Superfast Ferries. His music has a rave feel to it, something you can see being played at a great big rave!

How did you come up with the name?
Now I know the music’s nothing like the Stranglers, but the name comes from an old Stranglers song… a band I grew up with as a kid, listening to them with my brother at the tender age of 10.

Tell me a little about yourself?
Well here goes, all you ever wanted to know about Bearcage…
Bearcage is a one man band, name’s Tony Boyd from Liverpool… I’m far too old to be into playing with synths, 38 to be exact… but I s’pose having a mental age of 10 helps!

What did you do before the group started?
I’ve been messing with synths forever, had a previous life as Jonny Prophet writing Hardcore tracks. Worked in the past with producers Sharkey and K Complex.
After a breather of a few years working 9 to 5 in a bank, I’m back writing as Bearcage… older but still no wiser.

How did you start out/ was it hard?
I really only write music for pleasure, I love messing with synth noises and samples. Electronic music’s just like a big massive jigsaw of noise that you make yourself.
I’ve only ever sent 3 demos off, one of them signed me up, and another sent a really nice letter saying they hope to write with me one day. So I guess I was a bit lucky really.

Any big plans for the near future?
Currently writing a remix for a punk band, Big Gun Baby. They’re fantastic, and it’s a real honor to be given this one.
As well as this, I’m working on putting together a new live set of new electro tracks… which will be really interesting… the idea’s to take the main bits of loads of my tunes, and doing a true live interactive mix… new to me… none of this Live PA stuff… as a one man set, it’s pretty demanding. So if there’s any VJ’s out there that fancy getting together, I’d like to hear from u.

–Random questions–
What song have you been listening to most in the past few weeks?
Really addicted to Myspace, listening to stuff by Kidz On Acid, Superfast Ferries, Rex The Dog, Kaz Nishimura and loads of others.

What one materialistic thing can you not live without?
bed

Do you have a secret name for your favourite inanimate object?
Yeah, it’s nothing dirty though! it’s my sampler… an ESX

Does being musical help in picking up girls?
Nah! I’m married and settled down… & my wife hates me disappearing to write music! Haha

Click on the link to enjoy his music!

Links:
Bearcage Myspace

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

