Bethany Joy Clothing


Bethany Joy designs very feminine, classy and sophisticated clothes with a twist of quirkynes. Her beautiful and elegant cocktail dresses/formal wear has interesting cuts so whoever is wearing gives a mysterious vibe. She’s another talented Australian designer who produces all her clothes in Australia! Her affair with designing started when she found her mum’s old costumebook- she wondered why people don’t wear those clothes in modern times anymore.

How did you come up with the name?
Bethany is my first name and Joy is my middle… So it wasn’t terribly hard! Joy is also kind of a family name, so it felt right.

Who’s the brains behind the designs- tell me a little about yourself?
My name is Bethany Joy Monsted, I’m Sydney based and currently 23 years old. I am totally addicted to designing, I can’t imagine life without it to be honest. I graduated from my college KvB Institute of Technology in ’06 and was lucky enough to win the Institute Medal at my graduation.

When and how did you start out?
I graduated from college and after about a year decided to strike out on my own. I always wanted to run my own design label, so I thought why wait? It was only going to get harder, why not start now when I’m young and full of energy! So I launched Bethany Joy back in 2007, and have been having a blast ever since!

Was it hard to actually start producing clothes?
Yes. It was quite hard to meet the right production people, it took a lot of research. I have always been adamant that my garments would be designed and made in Australia, which made things even more tricky with so many production houses closing down now adays… but if you really want something, you make it happen.

What’s your inspiration behind the designs?
I’m inspired by nature, art and the concept of what a thoroughly modern lady wears. My design style is very feminine and sophisticated – I design luxury cocktail and eveningwear. I use pure silks and gorgeous laces. All my designs are lined in silk, so they feel amazing on. I put a lot of thought into the cut of all my garments, with interesting and flattering design lines always the focus.

What did you do before you began designing?
I don’t really remember ever not designing! I was the art crazy kid at school, even in primary. I knew I was going to be a fashion designer by the age of 12, and have worked towards it really since then.

Any advice for design students who wants to start a line?
Research first. Spend the time really looking into what you want to do, and who you need to work with to make it happen. It takes time to start a new business, so don’t be surprised if you have to keep a day job. Also, totally, 100% believe in yourself, and try to surround yourself with supportive people. It really helps keep you afloat. The only other advice I can give is to take advice from people in the industry who know what they are talking about. It’s one thing to have a vision, it’s quite another to succeed. Be humble and ask for advice when you need it. People appreciate your honesty, and will be more willing to help you out… which is good!

Any big plans in the near future?
Yes! I am going to take part in the “Showboat” fashion parade in Melbourne in September for Fashion @ Fed Square. It’s for up and coming racewear designers, so that will be really exciting. I’ll be showing my Spring Summer 08/09 collection called “Wasn’t that a dainty dish?” which is inspired by a lovely, summer tea party. You all should come!!

–Random questions–
What song have you been listening to most in the past few weeks?
I’ve had this random craving for some Sinatra this last week – so good old blue eyes has been keeping me company.

What one materialistic thing can you not live without?
A lovely, black pen to draw with. Oh, and a sketch book too!

Do you have a secret name for your favourite inanimate object?
Hmmm… that’s a good question! I don’t know if I do have any secret names for objects, but like any fashion designer worth a grain of salt I always name the clothes I design. It’s not terribly secret I’m afraid, but it is good fun!

She has more classically beautiful designs on her websites

Links:
Bethany Joy Myspace
Bethany Joy Official Site

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “Bethany Joy Clothing”

  1. killabot Says:

    i am glad to see this blog up and running again. we should lunch next week

Leave a Reply

