A Party For Alice

A Party For Alice is a art collection that the Australian designer, Fyona, says is worked around blending together illustrations and poetry. This talented designer doesn’t just create art and put them on cards to sell, she actually writes her own poetry which can be seen on some of her cards.

How did you come up with the name?
Well I use to be an Event Coordinator. I was in between jobs and doing a course in Sydney to expand my resume. They talked a lot about starting your own business, and seeing as I was having a hard time getting a job, during those long train rides back to Wollongong each day, I began to entertain the thought. I think A Party For Alice dawned on me while I was in the shower. It stemmed from the thought ‘A Party By Fyona’ , but I didn’t want to use my name because I thought it was a bit tacky so I forked out my middle name and was a little inspired by the band Something For Kate and there you have it. I never started that business though, I just hung onto the name until I needed a title for a MySpace site a few months later.

Who’s the brains behind the designs- tell me a little about yourself?
It’s just me really. My name is Fyona Latz, I’m 23, I live in Wollongong NSW. I remember writing and drawing from a very young age, it is one of the only things that I can recall doing throughout my whole life, so imbedded that it is not until now that I realise its unbroken thread. For me its all about the poetry – I only started drawing when I couldn’t think of anything to write. The only formal training I’ve had was during year 12 at school when I took Extension Two English, it was a bit of a boot camp for me!

When and how did you start out?
In February 2007 my friend Claire and I were up late reading through all of my old poetry. I decided the next day that I needed to create a space where I could showcase them all – just for fun really. So I started the A Party For Alice MySpace page. A shop in Melbourne called Meet Me At Mikes contacted me saying if I created a postcard for them with poetry + an illustration, they would sell them. I wasn’t going to do it until I remembered that I worked at a printers and it wouldn’t be that hard. A few months afterwards I put the left over cards on my page for sale and it grew from there.

Was it hard to actually start producing?
Because I was working at a printers for the first few months, a lot of the logistics were really easy. The hardest thing has been getting them out there.

What’s your inspiration behind the designs?
Colour is a big inspiration also I look at a lot of other artists, how they draw hair or eyes and gather ideas from them. I try to put a lot of emotion in to my girls – I like it when you look into a face and you get a sense that they have a personality!

What did you do before you began designing?
I worked as a youth and event coordinator for a few years after school. I had a few casual jobs, including working at the printers as a receptionist and an order processor and I still work casually as an usher at the Regent Theatre in Wollongong.

Any advice for design students who wants to start a line?
Even though you are a full time artist you still need to fight for time to do your art! The bulk of your time is spent promoting what you do and trying to get it out there. You need to be really motivated and keep reminding yourself that people do want your stuff – they just don’t know it yet!

Any big plans in the near future?
Were about to break away from just doing greeting cards and start producing note books, mugs and wrapping paper. Also hopefully in the next 12 months the first book of poetry will be published.

–Random questions–
What song have you been listening to most in the past few weeks?
There’s a new CD called ‘The I Heart Revolution’ by a band called United, it comes with two discs and disc two hasn’t left my CD player, I just love the whole thing.

What one materialistic thing can you not live without?
My kettle – I have a major tea addiction at the moment.

Do you have a secret name for your favorite inanimate object?
My laptops name is Iky.Mo.

If you love her designs, then click on her official site to purchase some of her artwork on cards or click on the myspace to check out more of her collection- which I suggest you do because there’s just a wide range of art in her work. She’s also planning to make notebooks soon so you’ll have something to brighten up your uni lectures- because honestly now, how many of you guys spend more time staring at your notebook instead of listening to the lecture?

Links:
Party For Alice Site
Party For Alice Myspace

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

