Styrofoam Junkies

Styrofoam Junkies is an indie/rock band that’s just signed with Takeover Records- already after listening to a few songs you can hear the catchy guitar and bass riffs and the very strong and confident drumming with a hint of delicious synths.
Not only do these guys play great music, they seem like a group of crazy and easy-going guys. They gave one of the most informative interviews i’ve had!

How did you come up with the name?
Well first we were called the Standoff, but when we went to record our EP we found out that there was already a band from the UK called the Standoff so we had to change it. Over the course of the next two weeks we had about 4 names, that all of us kind of hated and would eventually decide we didn’t want. Finally, we had a big drunken bonfire with our friends, and went through a list of literally 500 names. Each name we came up with everyone would chastise until we realized we didn’t want to move forward with it. Finally at like 4 in the morning our friend Nat came up with the name Styrofoam Junkies. We still made fun of the name for a good five minutes, but then kinda decided we would stick with it anyways!

Tell me a bit about you guys?
I’m Rich, I’m 24 years old and I’m from Long Island, NY and I play bass and synth.

The rest of the band is…
Steve – 25 years old from Madison, NJ and he sings and plays guitar

Ryan – 25 years old from Madison, NJ and he plays guitar

Vinny – 19 from Long Island too and he’s our special drummer boy

What did you guys do before the group started?
Well we’re actually all kind of transitioning away from full-time jobs right now. I am doing various part time work (most recently at the Agency Group in NYC which was awesome!) Steve does sales for a computer magazine, Ryan is a mechanic and Vinny goes to school.

How did you start out/ was it hard?
Well, Steve and I played in a band in college called Gunner Stahl, when we graduated we kept playing together in a band called A Staggering Genius which Ryan joined and our old bassist Ricky managed. When we started to move away from A Staggering Genius, Steve, Ryan and I wanted to start a new project, and Ricky wanted to learn bass. So I switched to keyboards/guitar and Ricky became our new bassist. After a series of lineup changes and name changes Vinny joined as our drummer, Ricky left and I went back to bass. It was extremely hard to get a line up of people that the chemistry is there and everyone is willing to put themselves 100% into the band. Then once you get there it’s just as hard to convince people you are worth their time.

Any big plans for the near future?
Well we’re spending a lot of time on the road this summer which is going to be amazing! And then in the fall we’re recording a new album which we’re stoked for because we think our new stuff shows a new level of maturity for us and we can’t wait to show everybody!

–Random questions–
What song have you been listening to most in the past few weeks?
Well, the new Panic at the Disco is a beautiful album. None of us were huge fans of their first disc but this one really is something special. Other than that I’ve been stoked on Good Old War, Maps & Atlases, All Grown Up, Battles, Weatherbox, Alive in Wild Paint, Pictures in Braille, This Condition & Jukebox the Ghost lately…

What one materialistic thing can you not live without?
hmmm, does coffee count? I’m a huge caffeine junkie! Other than that I’d sy either my iPod or my laptop

Do you have a secret name for your favourite inanimate object?
Umm not really, I should name my bass though, it’s a Spector and I’ve had it for 3 years and it’s like permanently attached to me. I used to drive a 92 Volvo that my friends and I used to abuse the hell out of so we named her monster. Then when I got a new car, I started only taking her to go surfing so I wouldn’t get sand in my new car, so she became the beach monster. She’s still running and my brother in law drives her to the train station. I want her back.
..

Does being in a band help in picking up girls/boys?
hahahahaha. You have no idea how many friends of mine ask me this question. I’d say it helps in meeting girls, but it definately doesn’t help in keeping them. I also manage our band, so between playing/practicing/traveling/handling the business end/ and trying to make a couple of extra bucks when I can, I have literally no free time. As a result, most relationships tend to end by say the third week….

Has anything crazy or embarrassing happened during a live show?
Well my favorite story is this. We kind of got started playing this little dive bar in West Hempstead called Patti & Johnny’s. And when we would play it would usually be all our friends, but when we weren’t playing there it’s kind of a biker bar. So one time there was a benefit show there that they asked us to come down and play…but it was to all these big bikers. It was literally like a scene out of the Blues Brother’s movie. Anyways, so we were sound checking (I was still playing guitar at this point), and this one dude was hammered and he started yelling play Metallica! So I started playing the riff from Enter Sandman, and he started cheering and I stopped so he booed. Then me and Vinny were messing around with a couple of Ramone’s songs so he started cheering again. Then we stopped because we were about to start our set. So the guy booed again, and when we went into our set the guy was like “What the f is this!?!?” and walked back over to the bar, haha. It was funny, and everyone there was actually really nice but it was just funny when this big scary looking dude was taunting us. Anyways, I guess you had to be there, haha

As mentioned earlier, these guys are gonna be on the (American) road a lot this summer so check out their myspace to see if they’re gonna be playing a gig in your town. Give their songs a listen and if you love it, you can buy it from the link below.
Also mention how we just signed with Takeover Records

Links:
Takeover Digital- EP available here
Styrofoam Junkies Official Site
Styrofoam Junkies Myspace

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

