Barthol Lo Mejor

blm4.jpg

Barthol Lo Mejor is an Estonian music maker with really creative ideas for his music. The melodies he creates are laid back and have a relaxing type of vibe, except for the fact that it’s mixed with some really heavy multiple beats making it really fast paced and energetic. Not only that he uses so many different types of sounds in his music, it really does stop it from being boring. If his songs were put on a visual screen, it would cause an epileptic fit!

How did you come up with the name?
Barthol Lo Mejor means Barthol the best in spanish. Barthol sounds like my real first name and “the best” signifies me as a monarch, like Alexander the Great and so on. It’s great, using a name that sounds like a person’s, while a lot of people in the industry are just making up random names, they even have name generators for making up nonsense band names. And I also need my name to be a pen name for the literature I publish. So all together my name is a good one, the best.

Tell me about yourself?
Barthol is as close to my real name, so I’ll stick to that. I just turned 20 and I live in Tartu, that’s in Estonia.

What did you do before the music making started?
I went to art school for children and went to a bunch of different sport groups for all sorts of things. Just enjoyed my childhood.

How did you start out/ was it hard?
First I was into programming in dos and I programmed some melodies using the pc speaker. Also when I learned how to record from the radio onto cassettes, I started making mixtapes and sound collages. But at the age of 14 I got to use the programs meant for composing. At first I tried ejay and soon after that a friend introduced me to FL. I have been using it ever since.

Any big plans for the near future?
Right now I’m working on my soon to come album. It’s entitled “Popdada nites” and it will be released on memory sticks (not the regular kind) under the Robodada record label. Also we’re working on a video for the track “Give mechemicalls”. And I’m planning to plunge into the London New Rave scene in person, maybe do couple of shows.

–Random Questions–
What song have you been listening to most in the past few weeks?
My latest discoveries are jumpstyle music and New Rave. The track that gave me a strong experience is Dj Coone – the return, was listening to it and I fell into a strange trance. But I really like New Rave as a street culture with it’s neon clothes and crazy partying, and from it’s music I would have to say Shitdisco- 72 virgins.

What one materialistic thing can you not live without?
A hard one. I don’t think I have an essential thing like that, I rather think that all things are constantly moving so I think that there’s no such thing for me.

Do you have a secret name for your favourite inanimate object?
My laptop’s called kyborg(Cyborg) and my home pc is calledkyylik(rabbit) they form the unit Kybo.

Does being in the music making business help in picking up girls?
My current gf hated my music in the beginning, but now she’s beginining to become immune to the disharmonies.So depending on the music, vice versa it could make things more difficult. Over here, playing guitar is kind of popular amongst the ladies, but making electronic music is about the same as any other hobby, although it helps in picking up girls for singing on my tracks and being a part of my videos and performances.

Take a look at the myspace and have a listen, I warn you though it may cause fits that resemble something like dancing.

Links:
Barthol Lo Mejor Myspace
Barthol Lo Mejor Site (Estonian)

blm-3.jpg

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

