Donna Sgro

ds1.jpgds2.jpg
ds5.jpg

Donna Sgro is another Australian fashion designer with a unique style – her creatively playful and sophisticated designs are already popular around Australia. Her clothes have a playful vibe because of the colour combinations she uses and her accessories include big buttons and cute robot necklaces. There’s also clothing she designs for the people who need to look more sophisticated, but they also want to add a bit of their alternative side to the outfit.
Check out her interview:

How did you come up with the name?
Donna Sgro is my name. The name of the Transeasonal 2008 is Cosmic Dancer, a bit of an homage to T-Rex and all things space/music inspired.

Who’s the brains behind the designs- Tell me a bit about yourself?
I am the brains, body, soul and everything else of the label Donna Sgro. I have come to fashion design via an original interest in art/design history and theory, with an idea to create garments and accessories that communicate some of the ideas I am fascinated by. I am pretty independently minded and creatively inspired to translate my experiences into design outcomes. I initially was inspired to start fashion design because I wanted to create garments that I was looking for and couldn’t find.

When and how did you start out?
I studied Fashion & Textile Design at the University of Technology, Sydney and finished at the end of 2006. Prior to this I couldn’t really sew but had a mission to start my own business. I launched the Donna Sgro label in 2007 and showed my first full commercial range Cosmic Dancer Transeasonal 2008 as part of RAFW New Generation Group Show in October 2007.

Was it hard to actually start producing clothes?
It has been a long process to get started, and a necessary high learning curve. Samples take a while to develop and getting everything in place for production takes longer, so the initial start-up period has been almost a year.

What’s your inspiration behind the designs?
Everything and anything that I find interesting or inspiring. For the Cosmic Dancer collection it was vintage robots, space inspired music and graphics, T-Rex, contrasting colour combinations, antarctic glacier scapes and experimentation. Also really important for me is to create garments that are fun, edgy, tailored and ultimately wearable with interesting details and finishes to make them special for the wearer.

What did you do before you began designing?
I was working for a small publisher just prior to UTS. Before that I had studied a Bachelor of Arts in Art History and Theory at Sydney University, with lots of research into modernist art movements and writers.

Any advice for design students who wants to start a line?
Do lots of research, plan ahead and have a strong commitment to your individual vision, while also taking on lots of advice.

Any big plans in the near future?
I have just sampled my new Spring/Summer 2009 range, STRANGE GAMES so am focussing on implementing the sales plan and having the range available for the people out there who would be interested to buy it.

–Random Questions–
What song have you been listening to most in the past few weeks?
A CD of songs – Andrew Wetherall’s album SCI FI LO FI

What one materialistic thing can you not live without?
Can I say coffee? or in this Sydney humidity it would have to be thongs!

Click on the links to have a good look at her sexy designs and if it really suits you, take a look at her online store!

Links:
Donna Sgro Site
Donna Sgro Myspace
Donna Sgro Online Store

ds6.jpgds4.jpg
ds3.jpg

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

