Surprise Junkies

sj2.jpg

One thing that I can’t get enough of is remixes- I could listen to the same song 5 times all with different remixes. There’s a definite skill in taking someone else’s music and integrating it with your style but still keeping the original vibe – Surprise Junkies is a Melbourne duo that has got that skill. They manage to put together 10-15 songs into one mix (they’ve done 5 mixes so far), one great song after another flowing together perfectly.

Tell me a little about yourself?
Josh & Jeremy, both 18, Melbourne, Vic.

How’d you come up with the name?
We get off on being surprised and we love surprising junkies.

What did you do before you started to make music?
Josh – Laziness and high school and laziness. We were kinda in bands and stuff like that before so this wasn’t that big a leap, I guess.
Jeremy – Procrastinate school work.

How did you start out/ was it hard?
Josh – On a computer. We started with short mixes and stuff, which were mostly horrible. Then I just spent time abusing my internet download limit to get as much music as I could to use. It was pretty simple.
Jeremy – I started making songs on Music 2000, an awesome Playstation game, from there I started my own breakcore thing.

Any big plans for the near future?
Josh – No one knows who we are, so no. We’ll probably be spending our time trying to get gigs, and remixing stuff here and there, whatever happens.
Jeremy – My computer is falling apart so I do what I can with it until I get something new.

–Random Questions–
What song have you been listening to most in the past few weeks?
Josh – Wow (MSTRKRFT Remix) by Kylie. It’s repetitive and awesome.
Jeremy – Trendy Cock Suckers, Suck My Retard Vomit Pussy Cunt by Passenger Of Shit Melbourne noise at its best.

What one materialistic thing can you not live without?
Josh – Shit. I can’t live with about 50 materialistic things. Maybe clothes. Everyone wears clothes.
Jeremy – My computer and my microwave.

Does being a part of a music duo help in picking up girls/boys?
Josh – Well if I ever tried, I might know. Although, since pretty much every cultural reference in history says that it would, I’ll just say no since it must be bullshit.
Jeremy – Unconsciously my standards are incredibly high. I wish I wasn’t so picky but yeah, I don’t think being a DJ does much considering the crowd generally thinks they’re Jesus.

Check out their mix tracks and have a listen to them all- hopefully these nice and skilled djs will do more gigs and go places!

Links:
Mix’s Track Listing
http://surprisejunkies.blogspot.com/
http://www.myspace.com/surprisejunkies

sj.gif

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

